Badges

Frequently Auto-Approved

Professional Reader

Blog Archive

Search

Loading...
Powered by Blogger.

Followers

Thursday, July 17, 2008

New Books on the way.

Since I have donated 20 books to my local Library I needed to fill the spaces I cleared out.


I ordered some from Paperbackswap and treated my self to a rare historical novel. As soon as I finish Prospect Ave I will be reading some of these treasures.


Kathryn In the Court of Six Queens Anne Merton Abbey


I have heard so much about this book that I actually started looking for it a year ago and then forgot about it. After hearing how hard it was to find I set off on my own search i found it for $24.00 Kind of expensive for a paperback but I love the cover art so the price doesn't bother me too much.


Summary of the book:Her name was Kathryn Chase, sensuous and powerful lady-in-waiting during the scandalous reign of Henry Tudor. She was the friend of Catherine of Aragon, confidante of Anne Boleyn, and lover of John de Gael, sworn enemy of the English crown. As proud King Henry defied the Church to take six very different women as his brides, Kathryn was there to share their sins, secrets, and adventures, and to play her own role in weaving the colorful tapestry of English history. In this majestic and sweeping novel, history and imagination combine to create a dazzling world of opulence and pageantry, of violence and drama, of deep loyalty and deeper passions. The royal court during one of its most fascinating eras comes to vivid life, moving from silken bedrooms to glittering ballrooms to the farthest corners of the heart with a courageous woman whose veins flowed with the hot blood of great English families. Her name was Kathryn.


Blood Royal By Mollie Hardwick


This is another one I found one night while searching ebay for historical fiction books.The title "Blood Royal" Seems to be pretty popluar when it comes to royalty novels. Summary of the book: Dazzling pageantry, court intrigue and harsh twists of fate figure prominently in this skillfully told historical saga set mainly in 16th century England, and focusing on sisters Mary and Anne Boleyn. Their father, Sir Thomas Boleyn, a man obsessed with attaining prestige and royal recognition, manipulates his daughters mercilessly, oblivious to their tragic lack of foresight and restraint. As a result of his machinations, Mary and Anne are sent to France to serve the English princess Mary Tudor, bride of King Louis XII. Even in the licentious atmosphere of the French court, Mary's sexual wantonness gains attention. Disgraced beyond redemption, she returns home, bears two illegitimate children to King Henry VIII, marries twice and dies at 45. Anne, an outspoken beauty cursed with her father's ambitious nature, weds the fickle, notoriously cruel King Henry and gives birth to Elizabeth I. When he tires of her, Anne is unjustly convicted of adultery and beheaded. Hardwick brings to these often-told events a fine grasp of historical details, against which she deftly presents a turbulent, moving human drama.


The Hidden Diary of Marie Antoinette Carolly Erickson


Since I have already read the Two other novels by Erickson I figured I better read the first one that started it all before I get behind on her books.


Summary of the book:For more than two centuries Marie Antoinette has been vilified as the heartless, frivolous queen who spent lavishly while her people starved. Now, in the tradition of The Birth of Venus and The Other Boleyn Girl, this moving new novel tells her side of the story.Imagine that, on the night before she is to die under the blade of the guillotine, Marie Antoinette leaves behind in her prison cell a diary telling the story of her life - from her privileged childhood as Austrian Archduchess to her years as glamorous mistress of Versailles to the heartbreak of imprisonment and humiliation during the French Revolution. Carolly Erickson takes us deep into the psyche of France's doomed queen: her love affair with handsome Swedish diplomat Count Axel Fersen, who risked his life to save her on the terrifying night the Parisian mob broke into her palace bedroom intent on murdering her and her family; her harrowing flight from France in disguise, her recapture and the grim months of harsh captivity; her agony when her beloved husband was guillotined and her beloved son was torn from her arms, never to be seen again.


0 comments: